Is Miso Soup Vegan? Can This Dashi-Based Dish Stay On The Menu?

Disclaimer: This post may contain affiliate links, which could result in us receiving a small commission if you make a purchase. This will not affect the price you pay, but it does help us maintain the site and keep the information you’re reading free of charge (learn more). Any quoted prices, features, specifications etc. are correct at the time of writing, but please do check for yourself before buyingThank you so much for supporting Happy Happy Vegan!

As we move into autumn (for those of us regularly cycling through the seasons) and the weather turns cool and crisp, one of the most satisfying, timely dishes is none other than the bowl of hot soup.

And while vegetable and tomato are familiar favorites (and often vegan!), perhaps you aren’t as well-versed with miso, a celebrated Japanese soup.

It may be a great way to add variety to your soup selection, but we must ask: Is miso soup vegan? What restaurants might offer vegan miso soup, or how might we make our own vegan version?

To find the answers we seek, let’s first take a look at the ingredients of this steamy substance!

Miso soup ingredients

As always, the best way to determine if a food item is vegan or not is to be vigilant about checking its ingredients. According to an article by The Daily Meal, traditional miso soup consists of two main elements: miso (a fermented paste that’s often made from soybeans or rice) and dashi (the broth in miso soup). (1)

Here’s a video by The Guardian that follows Yoshinori Ishii, executive chef of Umu in London, as he concocts traditional Japanese miso soup:

What is dashi?

Dashi is a Japanese soup stock, and it’s not just used as miso broth. According to an article by Gurunavi, it’s a key component of the world of Japanese culinary arts. And, since the miso portion of miso soup is made from vegan ingredients, dashi is the element of miso soup we must consider and further investigate. (2)

Types of Japanese dashi

Since there are several different forms of dashi, let’s take a look at each to figure out which might be vegan-friendly. Working this out is the secret to knowing the answer to the big “Is Miso Soup Vegan?” question!

Kombu dashi

Kombu dashi has two ingredients: water and kombu kelp… meaning it is vegan-friendly!

Iriko/Niboshi dashi

This type is made from baby dried sardines or anchovies. That being said, you can count this broth out of consideration for the vegan-friendly label.

Shittake dashi

Since the shiitake mushroom is the sole ingredient, this broth makes for another great vegan-friendly option.

Bonito/Katsuo (Awase) dashi

This is the most widely utilized form of dashi, and while it contains kelp, unfortunately, it is also includes katsuoboshi, which are bonito fish flakes, and so, it is not vegan.

Vegan miso soup brands

The good news? If your miso soup is made with either kombu or shiitake dashi, it’s a vegan miso soup! Be sure to check the label on any package of miso soup that you might find at your local grocery store, which will clearly state this information. And, of course, be sure to check that not only the base but the rest of the ingredients are vegan, too!

Here’s a few vegan miso soup options with fish-free stock to consider stocking up on!

Tsubi Soup Spicy Red Miso Soup with Mushrooms

Not only is this soup vegan, it has a low sodium content, no MSG or preservatives, and it’s freeze-dried. Just add water and enjoy! It also comes in two other styles: with eggplant, ginger and onion, and with crunchy vegetables.

Dr. McDougall’s Right Foods Vegan Miso Ramen

Dr. John McDougall, a proponent of plant-based eating and leading expert in the field of research and practice, offers a vegan miso soup that incorporates ramen noodles!

It’s organic, non-GMO certified, and also easy to prepare: Buy it here and just add water!

Annie Chun’s Miso Soup Noodle Bowl

Paired with udon noodles, tofu and scallions, this dish is also non-GMO and ready to make in 2 minutes. It does, however, contain nearly half of the daily recommendation for sodium, so keep that in mind in the greater scheme of your overall intake!


When dining out: determining the dashi

If you’re out to eat, especially at a traditional Japanese restaurant, there’s a good chance the dashi in their miso soup will be based in anchovies or fish. So, before ordering, make sure to check with your server, who might need to go check with the kitchen to find out if their miso soup is vegan or not.

We know that some might not want to “impose” or appear to be the “needy” member of your party. But the truth is, guests who have allergies to nuts, shellfish, and gluten (just to name a few!) inquire with the wait staff about ingredients all the time, as it’s of utmost importance to ensure the dish is safe for their consumption… and remember that your purpose is important, too!

You can also check almost any menu online and call ahead of your meal to ask all of your questions in private.

There’s also always the option of making your very own miso soup! Here’s a helpful video with an easy recipe, brought to you by The Happy Pear, to get you started!

We hope this has been an illuminating dive into miso soup. Just remember that it’s really all about the dashi, and while vegan versions do exist, the most commonly found are pretty fishy. And, though vegan miso soup is delightful, it does usually contain a high dose of sodium, and so, we suggest you consume it in moderation. (3)

As always, we’d love to hear your thoughts or answer any additional questions in the comments section below!

About The Author:
Carly Keyes

Carly Keyes is writer and personal trainer who decided to go plant-based after a visit to the True North Health Center in Santa Rosa, CA. The change has completely revolutionized the way she feels, looks, thinks and behaves, making her a very vocal advocate of the vegan lifestyle.

She’s also a keen singer/songwriter and has studied screenwriting at the University of Michigan. Carly lives in Bloomfield Hills, MI.

pinterest image for "can vegans eat miso soup?" article
  1. Will Budiaman | What Is Miso Soup? |
  2. Gurunavi | What is Dashi? A Guide to Japan’s Integral Ingredient |
  3. Jo Lewin | The health benefits of miso |


Sign up for our FREE plant-powered newsletter

Important Disclaimer: All of the information found within Happy Happy Vegan is intended solely for educational and informational purposes only. None of the articles written by or associated with Happy Happy Vegan have been evaluated by the FDA or any other federal body. No information found within the site is in any way intended to replace your physician, doctor or healthcare practitioner nor is it intended to diagnose, cure, prevent or treat any illness or disease. Please always consult your healthcare provider before making any changes to your diet or adding supplements that may block, restrict, or interfere with any existing medication.

Happy Happy Vegan is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.